Whirlwind

Moderator: Event DM

Missian
Apprentice Scholar
Posts: 658
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2005 12:21 pm
Timezone: GMT +1
Location: Groningen, the Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Missian » Tue Jul 09, 2013 11:32 am

Bumb,

how are things standing with this.. I've heard rumors about hacks from arkaz??

hope it'll get fixed one day with two of my mains having WW.. :S

thanks!!

Missian
Ripple Wanno, owner of "The Shadow Harlequin": Planar traveler, Interrests Illusions, Portals,..

I - Braq Strong Smart : Bloodkin Tribe Chieftain , Mighty Blood rager, Mage of Blood magic, Axe master,..
User avatar
Deider
Demigod of Posts
Posts: 13261
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 12:33 pm
Timezone: GMT -8
Location: California

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Deider » Fri Aug 21, 2020 7:14 pm

Hamlet's recent development update mentions Whirlwind Attack. We haven't fixed the bug, which was fixed on Windows servers but not Mac or Linux (which we run). For details on the bug see here.
"NWN Wiki" wrote:If whirlwind attack is used against exactly three targets, the attacker will lock up, becoming unable to attack or perform actions. This bug only occurs when the game (server in multiplayer) is running under Linux or the Mac operating system. (It had been a bug under Windows as well, but was fixed for that operating system.)
Since we can't fix that bug we have created an alternative Whirlwind Attack which you can use via the chat command /wwa. Details on this chat command are in the wiki. There are some slight differences between the chat command and the Bioware version. Perhaps the most glaring difference is the lack of the "pirouette of death" animation with the chat command - unfortunately that animation is unable to be scripted.

Try it out, and let the inevitable pissing and moaning begin! :mrgreen:
Calzier wrote:Deider's right
Jazz wrote:Deider's right <REDACTED TO ADHERE TO TEAM GUIDELINES>
Plethora wrote:and his left!
There is a 95% chance the purpose of this post is to increase my post count.
User avatar
Ghostie
Elder Sage
Posts: 4969
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:06 pm

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Ghostie » Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:32 pm

Perhaps the most glaring difference is the lack of the "pirouette of death" animation with the chat command - unfortunately that animation is unable to be scripted.
<piss and moan> I actually think that's my favourite part of the feat. </piss and moan>

I love it though, and appreciate the work that's gone into it. I will add it to my quickbar.
Your password must contain at least 8 letters, a capital, a plot, a protagonist with good character development, a twist, and a happy ending.
User avatar
RCon
CCC
CCC
Posts: 4791
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 2:19 am
Location: New York, NY (GMT -5)

Re: Whirlwind

Post by RCon » Fri Aug 21, 2020 9:54 pm

Hmm... Don't have the feat naturally, but shifter form Risen Lord gets it. Wonder if this will work. One way to find out!
Commander Morgan
Scholar of Fools
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:17 pm
Timezone: 0
Location: The Grand Halls of the Fiddlesticks

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Commander Morgan » Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:51 am

Am I using this correctly? Is it possible to target an opponent or do I just wander close enough and then type in /wwa?

Also, I can't seem to get the PC to continue attacking automatically after the whirlwind attack. He just stands there flatfooted, until I frantically click on an oppenent again.
User avatar
Ghostie
Elder Sage
Posts: 4969
Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:06 pm

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Ghostie » Sat Aug 22, 2020 10:06 am

Commander Morgan wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:51 am
do I just wander close enough and then type in /wwa?
Yes.
Commander Morgan wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:51 am
Also, I can't seem to get the PC to continue attacking automatically after the whirlwind attack. He just stands there flatfooted, until I frantically click on an oppenent again.
Are you using the new WWA or the old one?

I assume the new one, but it goes like this - approach the enemy > /wwa > click to attack. The WWA command does not automagically put you into combat, so you have to initiate (or continue) that yourself.
Your password must contain at least 8 letters, a capital, a plot, a protagonist with good character development, a twist, and a happy ending.
Commander Morgan
Scholar of Fools
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:17 pm
Timezone: 0
Location: The Grand Halls of the Fiddlesticks

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Commander Morgan » Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:23 pm

Ghostie wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 10:06 am
Are you using the new WWA or the old one?
If the new one is typing or quick slotting /wwa then yes (I'm not selecting the special manoever from the radial menu).

Typing that in / clciking on quicklsot performs the whirlwind attack (combat text confirms) immediately at that location, without giving the time / option to click on a foe.

When in combat, typing or quickslotting /wwa does nothing. I have to disengage from combat for /wwa to have any effect. (Including the "cooling down" combat text")

If i do disengage from combat or stand close to hostiles and perform the wwa, the damage does not seem consistent - I can't quite tell what it is doing - it's either the damage is too low, or it is calculating each type of damage per weapon singley.

Once the whirlwind attack is over, the PC is disengaged from combat.

I tried this on troglodytes and ogres in deglos and hags in the wilds. I'll try again on some other foes later, when I can find some low level spawns.

Hope that helps!
User avatar
Hamlet
Emeritus
Emeritus
Posts: 12866
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 8:52 am
Location: AFK
Contact:

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Hamlet » Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:32 pm

Commander Morgan wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:23 pm
I tried this on troglodytes and ogres in deglos and hags in the wilds. I'll try again on some other foes later, when I can find some low level spawns.
If the behavior is consistent and/or confusing, by all means pitch in to the bug tracker. :-)

I will not take, I will have.
—Kurt Villainova

Commander Morgan
Scholar of Fools
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:17 pm
Timezone: 0
Location: The Grand Halls of the Fiddlesticks

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Commander Morgan » Sat Aug 22, 2020 3:42 pm

The above happens on all servers I've wandered into.

Bug report added.

(I'm not sure if this is a bug, or working as intended, but I've made the notes on the tracker thingy).
User avatar
Deider
Demigod of Posts
Posts: 13261
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 12:33 pm
Timezone: GMT -8
Location: California

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Deider » Sat Aug 22, 2020 4:34 pm

When you use the /wwa command, either by typing it in manually or by a hotkey, your PC will automatically attack every enemy within range (10 feet radius for standard whirlwind attack, 15 feet radius for improved). You don't need to target anyone. It's been awhile since I've used the NWN Whirlwind Attack but as I recall you don't target anyone with that feat either - it just automatically attacks everyone within 5 feet. The NWN wiki seems to confirm this:
The character performs a full attack action, and makes one melee attack at full base attack bonus against each opponent within 5 feet.
If I'm wrong then chalk this up as yet another difference between the original NWN version and the new optional chat command version.
Commander Morgan wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:23 pm
Once the whirlwind attack is over, the PC is disengaged from combat.
Correct. This is intended. We didn't want to force PCs into combat with a target they may not want to engage a la Circle Kick.
Commander Morgan wrote:
Sat Aug 22, 2020 12:23 pm
or it is calculating each type of damage per weapon singley.
It is doing this. So if your weapon is a dagger that does d4 piercing but also through permanent or temporary enchantments deals 1d6 fire, 1d8 cold and 1d10 magic damage, then when you use /wwa you'll deal 1d4 piercing, 1d6 fire, 1d8 cold and 1d10 magic damage to every target you successfully hit within your whirlwind. There are a few buffs that don't get included like damage vs. specific alignments and races - we left those out to try and prevent lag.

And from your bug tracker entry:
If /wwa is attempted whilst in combat, it gets added to the action queue
Also intentional - you can't just immediately perform the Fatal Ballet Spin on a whim. Like all other combat actions it gets added to the queue. There's also a one-round cooldown period so you can't keep spamming the chat command.

Is it perfect? No. Is it optional? Yes. We didn't replace the original Whirlwind Attack because even though it's bugged the bug only occurs when you use it against three opponents. Back when that bug surfaced the general feeling on the forums was "well that makes this feat unusable now" but that was over a decade ago and I know people who do use the feat now with caution. This is merely an option for those who want to use the feat without worrying about their PC locking up. If you don't like the chat command implementation (and knowing Avlis plenty of you won't) then don't use it.
Calzier wrote:Deider's right
Jazz wrote:Deider's right <REDACTED TO ADHERE TO TEAM GUIDELINES>
Plethora wrote:and his left!
There is a 95% chance the purpose of this post is to increase my post count.
Commander Morgan
Scholar of Fools
Posts: 495
Joined: Wed Jan 11, 2006 1:17 pm
Timezone: 0
Location: The Grand Halls of the Fiddlesticks

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Commander Morgan » Sun Aug 23, 2020 4:47 am

Okay then.

I understand that it's optional.

It may be useful to cover how to use it a little more in depth in the wiki.

For example, you can't use it while you are already in combat (unlike the original wwa).

You have to disengage from combat or not be in combat for it to work.

After the manoever, you'll be left flat footed and will have to click on an opponent to resume attack (unlike the original wwa).

If you try to trigger it while in combat, you'll finish the combat (generally by the death of all your opponents) and then perform the manaouever (unlike the original wwa).

There is a one round cooling off period before you can repeat the manouever.

The knockdown effect is nice - although by the time you've re-initiated combat, your opponents will be back on their feet too.

If as you say all the above are intentional, my bug report isn't valid. My original post was more of a question as to its uses.

It's an interesting idea and would possibly useful in some tactical situations, inlcuding a rethink of the use of Great Cleave.
User avatar
Deider
Demigod of Posts
Posts: 13261
Joined: Sun May 11, 2003 12:33 pm
Timezone: GMT -8
Location: California

Re: Whirlwind

Post by Deider » Sun Aug 23, 2020 7:13 am

Commander Morgan if you'd be willing to write something up comparing and contrasting the feat and the chat command from a player perspective that would be very helpful. I could add to that some details about the script.

Image
Calzier wrote:Deider's right
Jazz wrote:Deider's right <REDACTED TO ADHERE TO TEAM GUIDELINES>
Plethora wrote:and his left!
There is a 95% chance the purpose of this post is to increase my post count.
downsystem
Apprentice Scholar
Posts: 823
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2004 1:16 pm
Timezone: -5
Location: Mt. Pleasant, Michigan
Contact:

Re: Whirlwind

Post by downsystem » Sat May 22, 2021 12:33 am

Here is my perspective. If you use Avis Improved Whirlwind, if you have to trigger it just before engagement, then the knockdown feature for one round is sort of not so effective because once the whirlwind hits anything you don't have anything targeted, which makes it so you can't really make use of the knockdown effect to often if at all because then get back up off the ground before you can hit with another attack because regular attacks are not queued up. Was that intentional?

Wish that the Avlis Whirlind was the start of the queue for regular attacks.
Grandrin kain Journeymen to the akn

tindertwiggy wrote-

It's not going to be perfect out of the box. That's half the fun.
Post Reply